What is in a name?

Root To Tip

The other day there was a Daily Post Writing Challenge about names, mainly thinking about your name and the meaning behind it – why did your parents give you the name they did?

I don’t really understand exactly why my parents chose Alexandra, initially my mother was planning to call me Ross if I was a boy and Rosalind if I was a girl, but when I came along my Mum decided on something totally different. My Dad’s boss at the time was called Alex, so no idea if that played a part! My siblings and I do not have middle names, something which I used to dislike when I was a child, most of my friends had them and I felt a bit left out. Initially I made up the middle name Mary when I was about 5 but then discarded it when I discovered that it was also…

View original post 309 more words

Leave a Reply

