WDYTYA Live 2014: Day 2

Great day at Who Do You Think Your Are Live (Day 2) Friday.  I went with my cousin who hasn’t done any genealogy work but was really interested in finding out more about a family member and just generally discovering something new.

After an accidental detour via Waterloo we still made it pretty much at doors opening, and managed to get various tickets to talks.  So I went to Cassie Mercer’s talk Writing Family History for magazines and newspapers; really interesting and helpful.

C had been to Larry Lamb’s talk & we were both amazed to hear how much work (& how many stars) are needed per series.
Jackie Depelle’s Yorkshire talk was really helpful for me & I was so chuffed with some of the sources she suggested. I was at her talk promptly with a good aisle seat, but two 7′ men sat immediately in front of me so I was swaying left & right in Sochi style.
Thank goodness for the restorative powers of Pizza Express! Refuelled, with ideas swapped we headed round the show, with C trying out the various sites. I found a family merchant mariner anc listed on Find My Past so was really pleased about that. After our final talk about records & strumpets we headed home to family & fajitas with our heads full of info & my bag full of leaflets & (even more) maps. Great day.

One thought on “WDYTYA Live 2014: Day 2

Leave a Reply

